Unfolding box to flat sheet

pdusp2

Looking around for some CAD
hi,
I wrote a c++ MFC program based on OpenCascade. Does anyone have interesting models to test this operation?
Piotr

Attachments

• 2024-04-13_22h11_50.png
    2024-04-13_22h11_50.png
    31.1 KB · Views: 3
  • 2024-04-13_22h14_44.png
    2024-04-13_22h14_44.png
    33.9 KB · Views: 3

Quaoar

Administrator
Staff member
@pdusp2 It looks like you did the trick. Is your unfolding also written in C++?

I have attached a couple of models that you may want to try. Curious to hear back about your results!

Attachments

• tmp-30-BvZ0kqWRWtcm-_0-1-1-2_1.stp
    294.1 KB · Views: 2
  • tmp-30-jhkP1Vf0t44I-_0-1-1-1_1.stp
    204.7 KB · Views: 2
  • tmp-30-njvlv01JrTaZ-_0-1-1-1_1.stp
    97.1 KB · Views: 2

pdusp2

Looking around for some CAD
Thank you,
You have made me very happy with them.

I loved OpenCascade, but I'm still a beginner.
My plan is to take one wall from the 3D object, as if I were putting flat paper on it,
from this model finds all adjacent faces and edges,
I convert the cylinder's segments into flat elements, and all the walls I bring all the pieces to the largest flat plane, to its normal vector, and finally save it to the Step file.
I use recursion to navigate the tree, and everything is in C++ MFC. I miss someone to talk to, I'm very lonely in this programming :-(
For simple models it already works, but for more advanced models there are still a few problems.
Finally, I have to remember the direction of bending the sheet metal and use the tangent to determine the plane replacing the cylinder's section.

Have a nice day
Piotr

Quaoar

Administrator
Staff member