How to get history of shapes

KeplerDD

Looking around for some CAD
HI Everyone, I would like to ask "How to get history of shapes, especially for "TopoDS_Shape"?
In detail, I'm a beginner of OCCT/VTK studies, and I used TopoDS_Shape->IVtkTools_ShapeDataSource->vtkPolyDataMapper->vtkActor this pipeline to render an OCCT source in QVtkOpenglNativeWidget.
I am struggling to implement an "Undo-Redo" function, I don't know is there a method which is able to "record" states of TopoDS_Shape?

For example,
When I try to Undo a boolean operation above, I had to get TopoDS_Shape of shape1 and shape2 and render them in widget once again
auto aShape = TopoDS_Shape(BRepAlgoAPI_Fuse(shape1, shape2)); aRenderer->render(aShape, DEAUFLT_RENDER_TYPE);

I also try to search for "BRepTools_History", but it looks like a tree of relationships of shapes, instead of changes for shapes.
I had confused on this problem for weeks, hope for your kindly help.

Thank you very much,
Best regards,

Quaoar

Administrator
Staff member
Hello @KeplerDD and welcome to the forum!

It seems like you're somehow mixing up several (very different) concepts, namely:

1. Visualization (which is done by VTK in your case).
2. Undo/redo which is application-specific and basically not related to neither modeling nor visualization.
3. History of modification, which is not related to undoing, redoing, or visualization.

OCC published their training materials in PDFs here: https://dev.opencascade.org/resources/trainings
My initial idea was to propose you to follow these documents in a kind of "self-training" mode to grasp the principal architectural concepts of the library. Would that make sense to you?