How to Expand Sheet Metal with Analysis Situs SDK?

ICO

Looking around for some CAD
I am a new developer, and I started learning Open Cascade with pyOCC.
Since I don't have much knowledge about sheet metal processing myself, I was hoping to find a ready-to-use sheet metal unfolding algorithm that I could integrate into my own CAD software. That's when I came across Analysis Situs.
I followed the instructions on the forum to compile the Analysis Situs SDK using CMake's algo scheme, but now I'm unsure how to use it.
I don't have much knowledge in C++ development, so I'm not sure which header files I should include in my C++ project to perform sheet metal unfolding on my CAD models.
I have already followed some tutorials to import STEP files and visualize them using OCC in my C++ project.

Quaoar

Administrator
Staff member
Hello @ICO and welcome to the forum.

The only open-sourced sheet metal unfolding algorithm I'm aware of is the one by Ulrich Brammer from FreeCAD. It is written in Python and might probably be a good fit for you; have you tried it already?

As for Analysis Situs, we do not provide a sheet metal solution for free; it's a part of the commercial SDK we've been developing for quite some time already. But if you are up to develop something like that from scratch, we can continue chatting here, I can give you some hints if it makes any sense.

ICO

Looking around for some CAD
Hello @ICO and welcome to the forum.

The only open-sourced sheet metal unfolding algorithm I'm aware of is the one by Ulrich Brammer from FreeCAD. It is written in Python and might probably be a good fit for you; have you tried it already?

As for Analysis Situs, we do not provide a sheet metal solution for free; it's a part of the commercial SDK we've been developing for quite some time already. But if you are up to develop something like that from scratch, we can continue chatting here, I can give you some hints if it makes any sense.