Vacation!

Quaoar

Administrator
Staff member
I'm going to be off for 3 weeks or so, starting from 08.08. Here is the draft plan for the road trip (on map):

1628003263442.png

Not sure if I'll manage to follow along with the forum in this period of time, so here is the excuse :)

Last edited:

Quaoar

Administrator
Staff member
We reached Novosibirsk now:

1628707341680.png

It's my first time being here, and I did not see the city as we arrived late in the night. That's quite a city though, well-known as a Siberian capital and a scientific center. Coming back to CAD, one pretty visible company is located here, it's LEDAS (https://ledas.com/). They are known for their LGS solver and other software components they developed. It's them who implemented constraints in Catia as far as I know. Will try to take a photo of their office in Akademgorodok tomorrow or the day after.

The road was fine. As it appears, Russian roads till Novosibirsk are pretty good and I've seen plenty of foreign cars driving their way somewhere to the east (to Altay maybe?). My car managed this part of the trip quite well, although it's 7 years old and made 150k km already. The only thing that broke was/is the speedometer, and I think it's the speed sensor to blame. The car is UAZ Patriot 2013.

Quaoar

Administrator
Staff member
Looking forward to see some pictures! Make sure your engine oil is topped of! :)
By "lucky chance" I broke my smartphone with a decent camera right the day before our trip started! The whole weekend was a shitty show actually. Now we are equipped with another cell phone whose camera is way worse and another reflex camera with broken autofocus :rolleyes:

But definitely, some photos will follow. One should never give up!

Quaoar

Administrator
Staff member
So we reached Gorno-Altaysk after fighting some minor (I hope) problems with the car. Here it is, waiting for a doctor:

uaz.jpg