How to respond when negative area is acquired

Shoko

CAD practitioner
Hello.
This is my first time submitting a form. This website has always helped me.
I am a beginner in working with OpenCascade.

I used BRepGProp::SurfaceProperties to get the area of a shape, but I got negative area values.
When I get the area for each Face of the shape in TopExp_Explorer, I found that some of the areas are negative. The face direction of this face was TopAbs_FORWARD.
My question is, what is the best way to get positive values for negative areas? I would also like to know why the area is negative. Can you help me solve this problem?

Thank you in advance.

calciffer

Active CAD practitioner
Hi, Shoko

I'm not entirely sure what the problem might be, but it could be related to improper TopoDS_Shape modeling.
Could you please share your model and testing data with me? Additionally, it would be great if you could provide the version information for the OpenCASCADE library that you are using.

Hope we learn from each other.

Quaoar

Administrator
Staff member
Negative areas of faces often indicate validity problems such as improper imbrication of contours into each other. Feel free to attach an example where you encounter such an issue and we will have a look together.

Shoko

CAD practitioner
Thanks calciffer and Quaoar for your replies.

I apologize for the inconvenience. I can't attach the test data as I can't externalize it. I do appreciate your kind words, and I will keep them in mind.

The loaded model is a JT file, but when I checked it in the OpenCascade view, it looked like part of the Face was broken.
Does this mean that if we can fix the Face we may get the correct value for the negative area, or would you please let us know if you know how to fix the Face?
I would like to give it a try.

I am using OpenCascade version 7.6.0.

Quaoar

Administrator
Staff member